DAILY NEWS May 31, 2010 7:49 AM - 0 comments

Short Film Story Gets Longer with Mobile Media, International Awards

TEXT SIZE bigger text smaller text

National and international short film festivals are getting a longer look, thanks to new mobile media presentation platforms and international recognition for Canadian creativity.


Hitting the road this week is the Short Bus, a mobile theatre put together by The Canadian Film Centre (CFC) Worldwide Short Film Festival (WSFF).


The Short Bus will cruise the streets of Toronto in an 11-day campaign, opening its door for interested members of the public to climb on board and watch specially selected short films, all under five minutes.


A social media component and Facebook presence will support the bus tour with additional information and viewer feedback.


Now in its 16th year, the Canadian Film Centre's Worldwide Short Film Festival is the leading venue for the exhibition and promotion of short film in North America and is one of the premier short film festivals in the world.


Taking place from June 1st to 6th, 2010 the WSFF will present 281 films from 34 countries. Offering one of the largest prize packages for short film in the world, top WSFF winners are eligible for both Academy Award and Genie Award consideration.



Meanwhile, the Canadian Short Screenplay Competition, administered by Year of the Skunk Productions (Regina), has announced that U.K. filmmaker Neil Graham is the winner of the CSSC for his short film script "Something Pointless".


David Cormican, who started the Canadian Short Screenplay Competition in 2008, made the announcement, and described the screenplay as the touching story of a young boy who learns to smile through witnessing the pointless acts of a strange dying old man and his random use of egg shells.

Thirteen short film scripts and writers as determined by the competition judges were vying for the top prize during the Golden Sheaf Awards gala as part of the Yorkton Film Festival Saturday night.

As grand prize winner, Graham receives the coveted Writers' Block Crystal in addition to $1,000. His script will go into pre-production with Year of the Skunk Productions and David Cormican producing, while 2nd and 3rd place honours went to Canadians. Surita Parmar's "Minus Lara" (2nd place) and Jagdeep Dhadli's "The Kicker" (3rd place) will receive $500 and $250 cash prizes, respectively.

The 2009/10 CSSC Top 13 finalists in order of judges ranking are:

1- "Something Pointless", Neil Graham
2- "Minus Lara", Surita Parmar
3- "The Kicker", Jag Dhadli
4- "Those Forgotten", Evan Jobb
5- "The Conductor's Escort", Carolynne Ciceri
6- "Writer's Block", Sam Patterson
7- "Publish and Perish", Mark Witteveen
8- "Hostage", Scott Sullivan
9- "Secrets", Tim Anderson
10- "Trap Wax and Sumac Berries", Kathy Para
11- "Like Magic", Judy Vann
12- "On Apollo 11", Nick Andert
13- "Cheat 'Em Fair", Carey Westbrook


For more information about the WSFF, visit www.shorterisbetter.com. Short Bus contest details can be found at http://facebook.com/CFCWSFF


Information about the CSSC is available at http://www.yearoftheskunk.com/CSSC/Home.html

Horizontal ruler
Horizontal Ruler

Post A Comment

Note: By submitting your comments you acknowledge that Mediacaster Magazine has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that due to the volume of e-mails we receive, not all comments will be published and those that are published will not be edited. However, all will be carefully read, considered and appreciated.

Your Name (this will appear with your post) *

Email Address (will not be published) *

Comments *

* mandatory fields